Committee clipart

Committee Information

The conference organization relies on a senior program committee and the organizing committee.  The Senior Program Committee is responsible for recruiting at least three reviews for each full paper submitted from members.  They are also responsible for working with the Program Committee Co-Chairs to select papers and organize conference content. 

Senior Program Committee members were selected from a broad range of fields, including human factors, robotics, and artificial intelligence, and were invited to participate with the conference.  Program Committee members work with the Senior Program Committee in reviewing papers, recommending papers for acceptance, and organizing the conference. 

Organizing Committee

The conference committee consists of the following individuals.  Click on names to learn more.

General chair

Alan C. Schultz

Naval Research Laboratory


General co-chair

Cynthia Breazeal

MIT Medial Lab


Finance chair

Julie A. Adams

Electrical Engineering and
Computer Science Department

Vanderbilt University


Program co-chair

Terry Fong

NASA Ames Research Center


Program co-chair

Sara Kiesler

Human-Computer Interaction Institute
Carnegie Mellon University


Registration chair

Candace Sidner

Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories

Registration co-chair

Marge Skubic

Electrical and Computer Engineering Department

University of Missouri


Publicity co-chair

Rene dePontbriand

Army Research Laboratory


Publicity co-chair

Francois Michaud

Research Laboratory on Mobile Robotics and Intelligent Systems

University of Sherbrooke

Exhibitions chair

Holly Yanco

Computer Science Department

University of Massachusetts Lowell

Tutorials Chair

Samuel Blisard (student)

Electrical and Computer Engineering Department

University of Missouri-Columbia


Local Arrangements chair

Dennis Perzanowski

Naval Research Laboratory

Video Session Co-Chair

Christoph Bartneck

Department of Industrial Design

Eindhoven University of Technology

Video Session Co-Chair

Takayuki Kanda

ATR Intelligent Robotics & Communication Laboratories


Program Committee

  Jeremy Bailenson (Stanford University),
  Christoph Bartneck (Technical University of Eindhoven),
  Henrik Christensen (Georgia Institute of Techology),
  Kerstin Dautenhahn (University of Hertfordshire),
  Jodi Forlizzi (Carnegie Mellon University),
  Pamela Hinds (Stanford University),
  Hiroshi Ishiguro (Osaka University),
  Peter Kahn (University of Washington),
  Takayuki Kanda (ATR),
  Myung Seok Kim (NAIST),
  David Kortenkamp (NASA Johnson Space Center),
  Dan Levin (Vanderbilt University),
  Christine Lisetti (Eurecom),
  Maja Mataric (University of Southern California),
  Robin Murphy (University of South Florida),
  Brian Scassellati (Yale University),
  Matthius Scheutz (Stanford University),
  Frank Schneider (FGAN),
  Candy Sidner (Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs),
  Maarten Sierhuis (USRA/RIACS),
  Reid Simmons (Carnegie Mellon University),
  Geb Thomas (University of Iowa),
  Greg Trafton (Naval Research Laboratory),
  Alonso Vera (NASA Ames Research Center),